6 min read

IFA 2026: Lenovo’s $699 IdeaPad Vibe targets the MacBook Neo

Shown at IFA 2026, Lenovo’s IdeaPad Vibe brings AMD, Snapdragon and Intel options, upgradeable components, OLED displays and seven colors.

IFA 2026: Lenovo’s $699 IdeaPad Vibe targets the MacBook Neo

Image: Mashable

Lenovo announced the IdeaPad Vibe at IFA 2026 in Berlin, comparing the new Windows laptop family with Apple’s $699 MacBook Neo. The Vibe keeps the entry price at $699.99 and offers two screen sizes, AMD and Qualcomm processors, optional OLED panels, more ports and some user-expandable hardware.

The lineup will arrive in stages. AMD Ryzen AI 400 models are scheduled for October 2026, followed by Qualcomm Snapdragon X versions in November 2026. Lenovo also says Intel processor models are in development, but it has not given a launch date for those systems.

Five colors of the Lenovo IdeaPad Vibe
Five colors of the Lenovo IdeaPad Vibe

The Vibe is 0.59 inches thick. It starts at 2.87 pounds for the 14-inch model and 3.31 pounds for the 15-inch model. Both sizes start at the same price, so choosing the larger display does not itself add a surcharge. The MacBook Neo has a single 13-inch, 2.7-pound format, though Lenovo has not provided complete configuration-by-configuration pricing.

Two sizes, several display configurations

Every IdeaPad Vibe includes a 120Hz IPS display. Lenovo will offer OLED upgrades on the Lowkey Grey and Moody Blue finishes in both screen sizes. The 15-inch version can also be configured with an OLED touchscreen.

IFA 2026: Lenovo’s Swan laptop rolls from 14 to 17 inches

Recommended reading

IFA 2026: Lenovo’s Swan laptop rolls from 14 to 17 inches

Tomas Berg 7 min read

The available panel specifications vary by size:

Configuration14-inch IdeaPad Vibe15-inch IdeaPad Vibe
Starting weight2.87 pounds3.31 pounds
Base display120Hz IPS120Hz IPS
OLED optionUp to WUXGA OLEDUp to 2.1K OLED
Touch supportNot specifiedOptional multi-touch OLED
OLED brightnessUp to 600 nitsUp to 600 nits
OLED color coverage100% DCI-P3100% DCI-P3

The OLED panels support up to 600 nits of peak brightness, cover 100 percent of the DCI-P3 color gamut and carry TUV Rheinland Low Blue Light certification. Lenovo has not identified the exact panel resolution or refresh-rate combination for every configuration, so the table describes the highest options disclosed rather than a complete retail SKU list.

Lenovo developed seven finishes with the Pantone Color Institute: Chill Blue, Moody Blue, Dreamy Violet, Lowkey Grey, Radiant Coral, Spicy Gold and Zen Green. The naming differs slightly in some descriptions, with Lenovo’s release using “Light Speed Chill Blue” in one listing, while the color rundown identifies it as “Chill Blue.”

Swappable keycaps on the Lenovo IdeaPad Vibe
Swappable keycaps on the Lenovo IdeaPad Vibe

Buyers can replace the keyboard keycaps, although the swappable sets are sold separately. The keyboard has 1.3mm of key travel, and Lenovo pairs it with an oversized precision touchpad. Optional keyboard backlighting is available, but the company has not said whether it will be standard on particular processor or display configurations.

Most versions use a fully metal chassis. Some AMD models instead combine a metal housing with a ridged plastic bottom cover, a distinction Lenovo has not yet fully mapped to pricing or specifications.

“A lot of that is hard to determine right now.”

Lenovo spokesperson, responding to questions about differences between the metal and plastic builds
Lenovo IdeaPad Vibe on display with Lenovo Store and color options on screen

1 / 2

The Vibe includes two USB-C ports with USB Power Delivery 3.0 and DisplayPort 1.4 support, two USB-A ports, full-size HDMI 2.1, a microSD card reader and a 3.5mm headphone jack. Wireless connectivity includes Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4.

Video calls use a 5-megapixel IR webcam with a physical privacy shutter. The camera supports Windows Hello facial recognition, while dual-array microphones provide smart noise cancellation. Lenovo lists two 2-watt speakers with Dolby Audio, integrated graphics and a Mylar touchpad.

Upgradeable storage, but memory details are unsettled

The IdeaPad Vibe starts with 8GB of RAM and 256GB of SSD storage. Lenovo says storage can reach 1TB, and selected models have dual SSD slots for later expansion. Qualcomm versions have user-upgradable SSDs, while AMD versions support expandable SSDs and RAM.

The early specifications contain an inconsistency. One description says the Vibe can be configured with up to 32GB of memory, while the more detailed breakdown says selected AMD systems reach 32GB of LPDDR5X and Qualcomm systems top out at 24GB. The source material also describes the AMD memory as upgradeable, so the exact memory-module design and the configurations that permit replacement are still unclear.

Upgradeable components on the Lenovo IdeaPad Vibe
Upgradeable components on the Lenovo IdeaPad Vibe

The base 8GB configuration is below the 16GB memory requirement specified for Windows Copilot+ PC features. A Vibe equipped with at least 16GB can run those features, but Lenovo has not said whether the $699.99 starting model includes 16GB or whether that threshold requires a higher-priced configuration.

Selected versions have a battery rated at up to 65Wh and support Rapid Charge Express over USB-C. “Up to” applies to the battery capacity as well as the memory and storage figures, so those specifications should not be treated as universal across the 14-inch and 15-inch families.

The processor strategy gives Lenovo more options than Apple’s single-platform approach, but it also makes the product harder to evaluate before launch. AMD models are first, Qualcomm systems follow a month later, and Intel versions have no announced release date. The supplied specifications do not identify the individual Ryzen AI 400, Snapdragon X or Core Ultra processor models, nor do they provide battery-life, performance or AI-compute benchmarks.

Lenovo is adding several software features. Creator Zone handles text-to-image generation, Smart Finder provides natural-language file search, and Lenovo Vantage includes AI-assisted power management. The material does not specify which functions run locally, what models power them or whether any feature requires an account or an internet connection.

Pricing and availability

Lenovo has announced one starting price across the initial processor families, but not a complete tier structure:

Version or marketStarting priceAvailability
AMD Ryzen AI 400$699.99October 2026
Qualcomm Snapdragon X$699.99November 2026
Europe€799Timing not specified
Intel Core UltraNot announcedLater date

The entry price matches the MacBook Neo. The Dell XPS 13 and Acer Swift Air 14 are also described as starting at the same $699 level. Those alternatives reportedly begin with twice the storage, giving them a capacity advantage over the Vibe’s 256GB base configuration. Lenovo instead offers component expansion, a larger 15-inch option at the same starting price and a broader port selection.

The comparison changes once buyers add OLED, more memory or additional storage. Lenovo has not disclosed the premiums for those upgrades, and it has not explained which combinations of processor, chassis material, display and memory will be sold at retail. The company’s spokesperson explicitly said those differences were still difficult to determine, so the headline price does not reveal the cost of the more capable versions.

The Vibe is part of a wider set of Lenovo products shown at IFA 2026, including the company’s first laptops built around Nvidia RTX Spark hardware. Our earlier IFA coverage also found Lenovo showing local-AI PCs, including the 1.6-liter ThinkCentre X Ultra and the 830-gram Project AeroBlade concept. The IdeaPad Vibe has a stated price and a retail launch window rather than a demonstration-only status.

At the October launch, Lenovo is expected to provide the exact AMD configurations, the real-world memory upgrade path and the price of the OLED and 1TB options. Until Lenovo publishes those SKUs, the $699.99 Vibe is an expandable base platform rather than a fully specified MacBook Neo alternative.

Frequently asked questions

How much does the Lenovo IdeaPad Vibe cost?+

The IdeaPad Vibe starts at $699.99 in the US for both AMD Ryzen AI 400 and Qualcomm Snapdragon X variants. Upgrade pricing for OLED, memory and storage has not been announced.

When will the IdeaPad Vibe be available?+

AMD Ryzen AI 400 models are scheduled for October 2026. Qualcomm Snapdragon X models are planned for November 2026, while Intel Core Ultra versions are coming later without a specific date.

Can you upgrade the IdeaPad Vibe’s RAM and storage?+

Qualcomm models have user-upgradable SSDs. AMD models are described as supporting expandable SSD storage and RAM, but Lenovo has not fully specified the upgrade mechanism or which configurations support it.

What display sizes does the IdeaPad Vibe have?+

The lineup includes 14-inch and 15-inch laptops. Both start with 120Hz IPS displays and can receive OLED upgrades; the 15-inch model also offers an optional multi-touch OLED panel.

Tomas Berg

Computing Editor

Tomas lives in the terminal. He covers chips, laptops, and operating systems with a focus on performance and efficiency. He reads kernel changelogs the way other people read fiction, and he's always on the hunt for the perfect mechanical keyboard switch. If it processes data, Tomas has an opinion on it.

/ Keep reading