3 min read

IFA 2026: SwitchBot lock offers 19 ways to unlock

SwitchBot’s Lock Ultra Max Vision Pro Combo supports 19 entry methods, including fingerprints, face recognition and palm-vein scans.

IFA 2026: SwitchBot lock offers 19 ways to unlock

Image: The Verge

SwitchBot announced and showed the Lock Ultra Max Vision Pro Combo at IFA 2026 as a retrofit smart lock for European doors that can be opened in as many as 19 ways. The system adds electronic access without replacing the door’s existing lock mechanism.

Entry methods include fingerprint scanning, passcodes, NFC cards, facial recognition and palm-vein recognition. Owners can also unlock remotely through the SwitchBot app, by voice, from a smartwatch or through an app widget. The system supports multiple users, so access can be assigned to more than one person rather than tied to a single physical key or phone.

The package costs €339.99 or £339.99, which SwitchBot says is about $395. That price includes three components: the new Lock Ultra Max, the Keypad Vision Pro and a Hub Mini Matter. US pricing and availability have not been announced in the supplied material, and the product’s stated compatibility is focused on European lock formats rather than US door hardware.

Faster motor, European compatibility

The Lock Ultra Max is built around a more powerful motor that produces more than 9 kilograms of turning force and reaches 160 rpm. SwitchBot says that is 3.2 times the rotation speed of the older Lock Ultra, although the company did not provide the older model’s speed in the announcement.

SwitchBot says the retrofit lock works with 99 percent of European locks, including common EU-profile cylinders, knob cylinders, Swiss round cylinders and UK oval cylinders. Owners with less common installations can use additional adapters. The Lock Ultra Max is a motorized unit that adapts to existing European mechanisms, rather than a universal replacement for every door lock.

IFA 2026: Dyson shows CameraJet toothbrush-flosser

Recommended reading

IFA 2026: Dyson shows CameraJet toothbrush-flosser

Dan Kowalski 2 min read

The included Keypad Vision Pro supplies the local biometric, passcode and card-based entry methods. The Hub Mini Matter adds the network bridge for remote control and smart-home integration, while the lock itself handles the physical turning force at the cylinder.

ConfigurationPriceIncluded hardwareStated motor speed
Lock Ultra Max Vision Pro Combo€339.99 / £339.99 (about $395)Lock Ultra Max, Keypad Vision Pro, Hub Mini Matter160 rpm
Lock Ultra Vision, launched last year$249.99Not specified in the supplied materialNot specified; SwitchBot says Max is 3.2× faster

The comparison is not a like-for-like bundle: the new price covers the lock, keypad and Matter hub, while the earlier $249.99 Lock Ultra Vision price is for the older product as described in the announcement. SwitchBot also claimed that the earlier model works with nearly all existing European locks, so the new Max version’s main changes are its motor performance and the new Vision Pro-based access package rather than a stated departure from the retrofit design.

Regional fit and unanswered access questions

The 19-method figure combines several access paths, from local biometrics and NFC to remote app controls and smartwatch access. The announcement does not break down how the methods are counted, whether every method is available in every region, or what happens when the hub or internet connection is unavailable.

It also leaves practical questions unanswered for US buyers. The company has not supplied US pricing, a US launch date or compatibility details for American lock standards in the material provided. Even the European compatibility figure is a company claim, not an independently verified result, and no latency, battery-life or failure-rate figures were provided.

For European households already using a compatible cylinder, the hardware combines a high-force motor with multiple credentials and remote-control options. For everyone else, the key unresolved issue is whether the lock fits the door and whether SwitchBot will sell the full package in the United States.

Frequently asked questions

How much does the SwitchBot Lock Ultra Max Combo cost?+

The combo costs €339.99 or £339.99, which SwitchBot describes as about $395. US pricing has not been announced in the supplied material.

How many ways can the SwitchBot lock be unlocked?+

SwitchBot says the Lock Ultra Max Vision Pro Combo supports up to 19 methods, including fingerprints, passcodes, NFC cards, facial recognition, palm-vein recognition, remote app access, voice, smartwatch and widgets.

Does the SwitchBot Lock Ultra Max work with US doors?+

The announcement specifies compatibility with European formats, including EU-profile, knob, Swiss round and UK oval cylinders. US compatibility and availability were not provided.

Dan Kowalski

Frontier Editor

Dan is our resident futurist, covering electric mobility, space exploration, and the smart home. He's interested in atoms just as much as bits. Whether it's a new battery chemistry, a reusable rocket, or a protocol that finally makes IoT devices talk to each other, Dan breaks down the engineering that pushes humanity forward.

/ Keep reading