5 min read

IFA 2026: Motorola Edge 70 Plus trades speed for battery

Motorola’s Edge 70 Plus arrives at IFA 2026 with a 200MP camera and 6,500mAh battery, but slower charging and less memory than the regular model.

IFA 2026: Motorola Edge 70 Plus trades speed for battery

Image: Digital Trends

Motorola announced and showed the Edge 70 Plus at IFA 2026 in Berlin, pairing a 200MP main camera and a 6,500mAh battery with a larger 144Hz display. It has a larger battery than the regular Edge 70, but not a full specification upgrade: charging is slower, the processor is a step down on paper, and the Plus has less maximum memory and storage.

The Edge 70 Plus joins the Edge 70 Plus Neo, which Motorola also presented at the event. Both new models measure 8.49mm thick and use 6.78-inch AMOLED displays, while the Plus adds a 200MP camera and the Neo uses a 50MP Sony LYTIA 710 sensor. The regular Edge 70 arrived in November with a thinner 5.99mm body, a 4,800mAh battery and a different camera and processor configuration.

ModelMain cameraBatteryDisplayProcessorMemory and storage stated in the reporting
Edge 7050MP4,800mAhAMOLED; refresh rate not stated hereSnapdragon 7 Gen 4Up to 12GB RAM and 512GB storage
Edge 70 Plus200MP with OIS6,500mAh6.78-inch AMOLED, 144HzSnapdragon 7s Gen 38GB LPDDR5X; 128GB or 256GB storage
Edge 70 Plus Neo50MP Sony LYTIA 7107,000mAh6.78-inch Extreme AMOLEDSnapdragon 7s Gen 3Not stated

A bigger battery with slower charging

The Plus has a 6,500mAh battery. Motorola rates it for up to 42 hours of calls, 34 hours of video streaming or 23 hours of social-media use. Those are Motorola’s own test figures, and the company did not provide the test conditions needed to compare them with other phones.

Motorola Edge 70 Plus shown at IFA 2026
Motorola Edge 70 Plus shown at IFA 2026

The trade-off is charging. The Edge 70 Plus supports up to 45W, down from 68W on the regular Edge 70. Motorola also did not mention wireless charging for the Plus in its announcement. A larger cell may reduce the frequency of charging, but the available specifications do not support treating the Plus as a faster or more capable version across the board.

IFA 2026: Xiaomi shows a Fold 8 rival and AI ecosystem

Recommended reading

IFA 2026: Xiaomi shows a Fold 8 rival and AI ecosystem

Eli Navarro 9 min read

The Neo has a 7,000mAh battery, although its charging speed was not specified in the supplied reporting. That makes the Neo the battery leader of the two new phones, while the Plus has the higher-resolution main camera.

The 200MP camera is not the whole story

Motorola’s 200MP main sensor includes optical image stabilization, 10x Super Zoom and 4K video recording. It uses 16-to-1 pixel binning, producing 12.5MP images at its effective output resolution. The Plus also has a 2MP macro camera and a 32MP front-facing camera.

Motorola Edge 70 Plus camera and design at IFA 2026
Motorola Edge 70 Plus camera and design at IFA 2026

The camera specification is less complete than the megapixel count suggests. Motorola’s announcement did not list an ultrawide camera for the Plus, while the regular Edge 70 has 50MP main, 50MP ultrawide and 50MP selfie cameras. The Plus gains resolution on its primary sensor but may give up camera flexibility, based on the cameras Motorola has listed so far.

The Neo takes the opposite approach. Its 50MP Sony LYTIA 710 sensor has fewer pixels, but the supplied reporting says it is intended to deliver greater dynamic range and lower image noise, particularly in low light. Those are sensor-positioning claims rather than independent test results; there are no comparative samples or benchmark results in the announcement coverage.

Both new phones include a 2MP macro camera and 32MP selfie camera. Motorola will offer the models in Pantone shades including Mountain View, Gray Lilac, Milky Blue and Sage, with the Plus described as having silk, acetate and leather-inspired finishes.

Processing and memory are a downgrade on paper

Motorola equips the Edge 70 Plus with Qualcomm’s Snapdragon 7s Gen 3, 8GB of LPDDR5X RAM and either 128GB or 256GB of storage. The regular Edge 70 launched with the Snapdragon 7 Gen 4 and configurations reaching 12GB of RAM and 512GB of storage.

The Edge 70 Plus Neo also uses the Snapdragon 7s Gen 3, according to the event coverage. One report described the regular Edge 70 as using the Snapdragon 7 Gen 4, making the Plus and Neo’s processor choice a lower-tier or older-positioned part relative to Motorola’s own standard model. Motorola has not supplied performance figures in the material available here, so the practical difference in CPU, GPU or sustained performance is unverified.

The Plus adds a more rugged build. Its 6.78-inch quad-curved AMOLED display runs at 144Hz and is protected by Gorilla Glass 7i. The phone also carries MIL-STD-810H durability certification. The supplied reports do not explain which tests were passed or whether the certification applies to every regional version, so it should not be read as a quantified water, drop or temperature rating.

Pricing and availability are still unresolved

Motorola said the Edge 70 Plus will roll out across select countries in Europe and the Middle East over the coming weeks. It has not announced a US launch, a US price or a European price for the Edge 70 Plus. The same reporting does not establish pricing or a US release window for the Edge 70 Plus Neo.

The Plus has a larger battery and higher-resolution primary sensor than the regular Edge 70, but the regular model has faster 68W charging, a 50MP ultrawide camera, more memory and storage, and the Snapdragon 7 Gen 4 listed in the reporting. Without a price, it is impossible to tell whether Motorola is positioning the Plus as a premium upgrade, a battery-first alternative or a cheaper model with selective headline specifications.

Motorola’s IFA handset announcements also include a limited Swarovski version of the 2026 Razr, listed in Europe at 1,000 euros ($1,159), compared with $800 for the base Razr. The company also announced the LTE Moto Watch Ultra at 429 euros ($497) in Europe and a Moto Snap Wireless Charger rated for up to 25W with Qi-compatible products and up to 30W with supported Motorola devices. Those products have announced prices, but they do not answer the missing question for the Edge 70 Plus.

For US buyers, the Edge 70 Plus is an announcement rather than a purchase option. Motorola has shown the hardware at IFA 2026 and described a European and Middle Eastern rollout, but the price, US availability and independent evidence for its battery and camera claims remain unspecified.

Frequently asked questions

How much does the Motorola Edge 70 Plus cost?+

Motorola has not announced pricing for the Edge 70 Plus.

Will the Edge 70 Plus be sold in the US?+

US availability has not been announced. Motorola says the phone will roll out across select countries in Europe and the Middle East over the coming weeks.

How does the Edge 70 Plus compare with the regular Edge 70?+

The Plus has a 6,500mAh battery and 200MP main camera, but the regular Edge 70 has faster 68W charging, up to 12GB of RAM, up to 512GB of storage and a 50MP ultrawide camera.

Does the Edge 70 Plus support wireless charging?+

Motorola did not mention wireless charging for the Edge 70 Plus in its announcement.

Eli Navarro

Gadgets Editor

Eli is obsessed with the tangible future. He reviews phones, wearables, and everything with a battery. Known for his rigorous testing protocols and unabashed teardowns, Eli has broken more review units than he cares to admit, all in the name of discovering the truth about durability and repairability.

/ Keep reading